New Posts New

Navdurga – Nine forms of Goddess Durga

Read Devotional Article

“Navdurga” is literally means Nine forms of Goddess Durga, constitute, according to Hindu mythology, the manifestation of Goddess Durga in nine different forms.

These nine forms of Goddess Durga are Śailaputrī, Brahmacāriṇī, Chandraghaṇṭā, Kuśamāṇḍā, Skandamātā, Kātyāyanī, Kālarātrī, Mahāgaurī and Siddhidātrī.

All forms of Godess Durga together worshipped in Gujarat during Navratri (Nine Devine Nights) twice a year during Gujarati Months Chaitra and Ashwin.

As per the legend, during Chaitra Navaratri, Goddess had saved deities from demons whereas during Ashwin Navratri, Goddess saved Mankind. During Ashwin Navratri, to pay gratitude from mankind, in Gujarat, people pray the Goddess Durga in form of Garba.

Following are the dhyana-mantra (a mantra for meditation) of nine forms of Goddess Durga with its meaning.


वन्दे वांछितलाभाय चंद्रार्धक्रतशेखराम !
वृषारूढां शूलधरां शैलपुत्री यशस्विनीम !!

May the illustrious Shailputri Durga whom I salute and whose head is adorned by a half-moon, who rides nandi, a bull and carries a spear fulfill the desires of my heart.


दधाना करपद्माभ्यामक्षमाला कमण्डलु !
देवी प्रसीदतु मयि ब्रह्म्चारिन्यनुतमा !!

May the supreme Brahmachari Durga, who holds rosary and kamandalu in her lotus hands and whose nature is to attain Sachchidanandamaya Brahmaswarupa the Existence-Knowledge-Bliss absolute, be propitious on me.


पिंडजप्रवरारुढ़ा चन्दकोपास्त्रकैर्युता !
प्रसादं तनुते मह्यं चन्द्रघंटेति विश्रुता !!

May that Durga Devi, who rides on Tiger, who is endowed with intense anger and violence and is renowned by the name of Maa Chandraghanta, bestow her grace on me.


सुरासम्पूर्णकलशं रूधिराप्लुतमेव च !
दधाना हस्तपद्माभ्याम कुष्मांडा शुभदास्तु मे !!

May Kushmanda Ma Durga who holds two pitchers full of blood in her lotus hands and the universe is created, sustained and drawn within Devi’s own-self in a wink be propitious for me.


सिंघासनगता नित्यम पद्माश्रितकरद्वया !
शुभदास्तु सदा देवी स्कन्द माता यशश्विनी !!

May the renowned Durga Devi Skandamata who is eternally seated on a throne and whose hands are adorned with lotuses, be ever propitious to me.


चंद्र्हासुज्ज्वलकरा शार्दुलवरवाहना !
कात्यायनी शुभम दध्यादेवी दानवघातिनी !!

May the ever watchful Durga Devi Kartyayani, who holds shining Chandrahasa (Sword) in Devi’s hand and rides a magnificent lion and destroys the demons, bestow welfare on me.


वाम पादोल्ल सल्लोहलता कण्टक भूषणा !
वर्धन मूर्ध ध्वजा कृष्णा कालरात्रि भर्यङ्करी !!

May Bhayankari Durga Devi Kalaratri, who is with long lips, riding an ass, shining in various hues looks formidable because of the halo of Devi’s lustre and is adorned with multi coloured ornaments remove my darkness of ignorance.


श्वेते वृषे समारूढा: श्वेताम्बरधरा शुचि: !
महागौरी शुभम दद्यान्महदेवप्रमोददा !!

May the Mahagauri Ma Durga who rides a white Vrishaba the bull and who wears spotless white clothes and remains ever pure and also provides ever lasting bliss to Mahadeva Lord Shiva bestow all auspiciousness.


सिद्धगन्धर्वयक्षाद्यैरसुरैरमरैरपि !
सेव्यमाना सदा भूयात सिद्धिदा सिद्धिदायिनी !!

May the ever victorious Siddhidayini Ma Durga, who is always worshipped by the hordes of siddha, gandharva, yaksha, asura, and Deva, bestow success at my every venture.




Leave a Comment


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password